Another reason why I’m spoiled:

Source: google.com via Melissa on Pinterest

 

Fall. A gorgeous season that we New Engaland-ers are spoiled by. There is nothing like the cool, crisp autumn air, the crunchy orange, red, and yellow leaves under our feet, and the smell of the first wood burning fire.

The New Yorker and I were talking the other day, while driving to the central part of the state, about how there are so many people who have never seen leaves any color other than green. Having just come back from our trip to Hawaii, we were amazed that most of the people there had never experienced snow, and were used to their palm trees and beautiful ocean breeze year-round.

Lovely

I can’t really imagine my life without seasons. I complain all the time about snow (110 inches of the stuff last winter!) and the cold (I shouldn’t have to walk to work, or even go to work, when it is -10 outside!), but what I never do is enjoy the fall.

Fall has a certain smell. You just know when it’s a perfect fall day. The sun is shining, the leaves are all different colors, you have on a warm, cozy sweater, and it just…smells like fall.

We planned our wedding specifically so that it would be fall themed. The brown bridesmaid dresses, the beautiful orange flowers, the centerpieces, the cake, all in the theme of fall. (I promise, as soon as I get pictures back, there will be about a million wedding-related posts!).

The only downside of fall?

The first cold of the season.

I woke up with it the other morning. The sore throat, the fever, and the headache. I knew this one wasn’t about to go away with a simple cup of coffee. No, no. I needed tea, dayquil, and some soup – and I needed it fast!

Luckily The New Yorker grabbed the Dayquil, I was able to hunt down some tea in town (memo to self- Buy tea for impending cold/flu season), but the missing piece of the equation was the soup.

I love soup. Almost as much as I love cheese – and that is really saying something! I’ve been afraid of soup since I went gf, since I felt like all the soup I loved used flour for a thickener (New England Clam Chowdah for instance?).

With that in mind, I went to my favorite stand-by blog for all things GF and delicious:

Gluten Free Girl and The Chef.

As I perused the categories listed on The Gluten Free Girl’s site, I easily found exactly what I was looking for. (Now mind you, we got our first freezing rain/snowfall last night, so it made sense in my head)

Is all this rain giving you the sniffles?

Yes, actually, it is. How did you know?

With a little help from the knife wielding New Yorker, all of the ingredients got chopped and added to the pot.

Mingling veggies


This led to an amusing discussion between The New Yorker and I about autumnal smells, and what would happen if the veggies didn’t get along well (they are supposed to mingle per the recipe, but what if they fight?).

**Side note**

The thing I love about the Gluten Free Girl’s recipes is that I feel like I am reading a story, rather than following a recipe. She always finds a way to engage all of the senses (how things smell, what they look like etc) rather than saying “let sit for 5 minutes”. It makes cooking so much more fun, and then I remember to stop and focus on all of those different things, instead of just breezing through my cooking like a chore.

**Side note over**

Then, in went the chicken broth:

Soup!


Followed by the chicken, and finally the pasta:

All finished!


The only thing I would change next time is that I would add more pasta to start with. The Gluten Free Girl apparently has better GF pasta than I do, because mine did not puff up the way hers did. I ended up adding more pasta, and then some was cooked appropriately, and some was WAY over cooked. Lesson learned! Also, mine ended up making enough for 4 servings, which was great!

Overall, this soup was exactly what I needed to help make me feel better, and all Fall-Like at the same time. I really enjoyed this one, and will be adding it to my fall/winter dinner rotation since it will make perfect meals to take to work!

What is your favorite thing to eat/drink when you’re not feeling so great?

2 thoughts on “Another reason why I’m spoiled:

  1. Pingback: Clean Eating, a clean start « The Pasta Free Runner

  2. Pingback: Rolled Oats and a Dose of Honesty « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

