Running Without Music

Starting to look like winter!

Good Morning from lovely Boston, MA!

Sorry for the lack of a post yesterday. That new accessory of mine has been giving me a lot of trouble the last couple of days. Not even a slightly too  large dose of Motrin or Aleve is kicking the nagging discomfort in my thumb :(

On the bright side though, a pain in my thumb does not prevent me from going for a gorgeous run(another of which is planned for today)!

I had started working on my December Running Playlist yesterday. I put out a call for help from a few people (and maybe all of twitter, thanks for not helping me out guys….) and Beth responded right away as always.

With the exception of her staunch refusal to let me put Moves Like Jagger on my play list (in fact I’m pretty sure she told me she would be “very sad” if she heard it one more time..) she probably gave me the best suggestion I could have gotten.

She told me to lose the music.

Well, not literally, but she sent me to the Jillian Micheals Podcasts and told me to prepare to laugh out loud while running.

Suuuuuuuurreeeeeeeeeeeeee….

Not since my high school days have I laughed while running. Who enjoys running that much that they can laugh, rather than curse out loud while sucking wind? I mean, come on.

Not only was I doubtful of the ability to laugh while running, but I was nervous that I wouldn’t be able to run without my music. Beth told me that it gives you a more steady pace since you’re not changing your pace with your music. I figured that meant I’d be walking as soon as I opened the front door.

Lo and Behold, as always, my big sister was right.

I listened to 1 1/2 podcasts during my 6 mile run. The first was called Detoxifying Our Lives and Food Cannot Be a Reward. Within about 5 minutes I was hysterically laughing (yes, out loud!) and getting a few funny looks from people (and dogs) as I ran happily by.

Before I knew what had even happened, I had run the full 6 miles without stopping once! I didn’t even use my traffic lights as an excuse, and stayed on one side of the street so I wouldn’t have to stop. It was by far, the BEST run I’ve had in a very, very long time.

Where did the time go?!

I started the run at a 9:40 pace which I maintained for the first 2-3 miles before slipping to a 10:15 and then finally a 10:30. When I realized I was only a mile away from being done, and that I wasn’t feeling bad at all, I kicked up the pace to bring my average back down to the 10:15 mark again.

As soon as I got home, I let my sister know how great of a run I had, and then promptly downloaded the rest of the JM Podcasts.

Today is a 4 mile run, and I’m actually a little sad that it’s not longer (we’ll see what happens…). I’m looking forward to some more interesting information tied in with lots of humor, and yes, the weird looks from people and their dogs as I pass by :)

 

What is your favorite thing to listen to while running?

One thought on “Running Without Music

  1. Pingback: Neon, Blue Lights, and Chocolate Milk « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

