Gluten Free Pizza

Gluten Free Pizza Crust!

I’m already crossing my fingers and hoping for the best! I’ve been looking for a good gluten free pizza, and tonight I’m trying a new brand. Living with the New Yorker (and now being gluten free) has made pizza non-existant in my life. He’s a little, shall we say, picky? about his pizza. I agree it’s with good reason though. New York pizza is just better. And having grown up with it, you would expect all pizza to taste like New York pizza. Until you move to Boston. Then, your life becomes just a little sadder. He’s been a good sport, but the guy just needs a decent pizza.

Anyway, back to the pizza I’m trying tonight. It’s from a company called Bob’s Red Mill. They have a huge selection of gluten-free flour and different mixes. My mom had given me the chocolate chip cookie mix which got rave reviews, even from The New Yorker! (Both of our moms make killer chocolate chip cookies, so he’s picky in that department too, but then again so am I!)

We were desperately trying to figure out what we wanted to eat for dinner tonight and I’ve been dying for pizza, so we thought we’d try it out.

The directions are simple enough to follow, and it has minimal ingredients which is even better for a beginner like me.

Everything you need for pizza!

I poured myself a glass of wine and off I went

Wine is Gluten Free!

I mixed everything together, and let the dough rise.

Please rise!

The directions said it would take 20 minutes to rise. 30 minutes later I barely noticed a difference, but I went with it. I chopped up some veggies for my half, and got the Prego Traditional Italian sauce (confirmed gluten free!) out of the fridge, along with the Sargento Mozzerella cheese (confirmed gluten free!)

Gluten Free toppings!

I started to spread out the dough and almost immediately required the help of The New Yorker. It was a sticky mess. The directions had said “with wet hands spread the dough on a greased pan”. So I did. And it was pretty much a disaster! The quick fix? Grease the back of a spatula and use that to spread the dough. This is the best we got:

It sort of looks like pizza....

Then I had to bake it like that for 7 minutes. Finally, we added the toppings.

Topped pizza!

Back in the oven for another 15-ish minutes, and then we were ready to eat!

Ready to eat!

While The New Yorker ate 3 pieces, he gave it 2.5 stars. I gave it 3 stars, with the potential for 4 stars if I manage to make it a little less doughy tasting.

At 250 calories, 1g of fat and 45g of carbs a slice (pre toppings), this is definitely not something to eat everyday, but boy did it satisfy my pizza craving!

I will keep looking for other options, as this made a really thick crusted pizza. The New Yorker is used to something thinner, but he agreed that it “wasn’t bad”, which is HUGE coming from him!

WORKOUT:
Today’s workout was quick, but I think effective. I did 3 rounds of the following, with 30 seconds of each exercise, no stopping in between.

-Modified push-ups
-Plank
-Sit-ups
-Russian Twists with 15lb kettlebell

I was definitely feeling the burn afterward! Tomorrow I’m looking forward to a workout at the gym with Chris, and potentially a run. Gotta get training!

Leave a Reply

