Fitbit!

About a year and a half ago I was looking for something to help me keep track of my workouts. I wanted something I could wear all day that would track my steps as well as my calories. Being a HUGE fan of the Biggest Loser, I started looking at the Body Bugg that all of the contestants wear. I was really excited to find out that it did everything I wanted it to do, from counting steps and workouts, to tracking calories out, to allowing you to input your food. What I wasn’t excited about was the price tag. The system itself was upwards of $300, with a monthly fee for the use of the website. Bummer. Being the queen of google though, I managed to stumble on the FitBit, and my life has never been the same!

This tiny little gadget does everything that the Body Bugg does, but is much less noticeable. I can clip it right to my pants, underwear, or bra and no one even knows it’s there.

It’s smaller than the width of my iPhone!

So tiny!

It tracks steps:

Steps

Total Distance traveled in a day:

Distance

Calories:

Calories

And your “active score” (which is a little flower that grows taller the more active you are):

Active score

For $99, you get the Fitbit, and docking station.

Fitbit and Dock

The website is free and can be used to track your activity and food even if you don’t have a Fitbit. For $50 for the year, you can get the premium version of the website which allows you to have a personalized program as well as allowing you to see how you measure up against other users. So for less than the price of the Body Bugg, you have the full Fitbit experience!

Website! (I need to be more active this week!!)

I have found Fitbit to be a huge motivational tool. I tend to check my steps several times a day and am always striving for ways to get more steps (walk laps during commercial breaks? check! Take the stairs instead of the elevator? check! Park in the furthest spot from the door? check!)

The best part of the Fitbit? You don’t have to attach it to the dock to upload your data. All I have to do is walk within 15 feet of the dock (which attaches to your computer by USB cable) and it automatically updates to the website.

Being able to track your food is also a huge help. I have found that the food trackers on other websites (like Sparkpeople) are far more comprehensive, but with a little work I was able to get all of my favorites uploaded and easily listed.

Oh, and did I mention that it tracks your sleep habits? All you have to do is start the timer when you lie down, and shut it off when you wake up. When you upload the data it will tell you how many times you woke up during the night, along with how long it took you to fall asleep, and the total time you were asleep. Pretty great!

Overall this is a great little gadget for people like me who are motivated by numbers. I find that on days I’m not wearing it I tend to sit around more since I don’t have any numbers to strive for (15,000 steps? hell, why would I bother with that??)

It’s definitely worth taking a look at if you need a motivational boost!

What do you use to help keep you motivated?

 

 

Leave a Reply

