Accidental run

This morning I went out for a quick 3 mile run. Or so I thought! When I got to my usual turning point my eye was caught by a runner on a boardwalk across the way from me. It hadn’t dawned on me before that Boston’s Harborwalk would be an awesome place to run. So I creepily followed the runner in front of me for another few miles until I realized that if I didn’t turn around, I would never make it home in time to shower before heading out for the day.

This afternoon I googled more information on the Harborwalk and found this:
“The HarborWalk has a changing character as it winds through the city’s waterfront neighborhoods and downtown district, stretching from Chelsea Creek to the Neponset River, through East Boston, Charlestown, North End, Downtown, South Boston and Dorchester. Part of the richness of the HarborWalk is its variety, reflecting the various activities and urban texture of adjacent land. The HarborWalk’s design guidelines allow for the expression of diversity and a variety of active and passive uses.”
(Source) 

I took the Harborwalk through South Boston, Downtown Boston, the North End and Charlestown on my route today. It’s crazy to me how close all these neighborhoods are when you follow the water instead of trying to get through traffic! I definitely need to get back out there with my camera. There are so many gorgeous places along the walkway.

Part of the route takes me right by the New England Aquarium. I have always loved the aquarium, it’s my first choice of things to do when it rains! One of the best things (in my opinion) is the free outdoor harbor seal tank. They always make me smile!

Giggles!

I think they usually make themselves smile! 🙂

Anyway, my run ended up being 6.2 miles and took me an hour almost exactly. It’s hard to run fast when you spend so much time looking around!

Breakfast and lunch today were so rushed I’m not even sure I actually ate meals. I just grabbed leftovers from yesterday (Baked Tofu, and Chocolate Rum Truffles) and ate what I could on the fly.

Dinner on the other hand was amazing! I made another one of my gluten free pizzas. It always starts out with some art:

Oil Art!

Then it becomes a pizza crust:

The New Yorker had a hand in it!

Then I add the toppings:

Please note the cheese only section!

And voila! Pizza!

All done!

The New Yorker had the cheese only section, and I had the section across from that. Next thing we knew, we were left with this:

Bowtie!

Needless to say, pizza tasted gooooood!

I’m headed back to real work tomorrow, and this will be the perfect leftover lunch.

Has anyone tried those new barre classes that have come out? I’m dying to get back into ballet again, and I feel like this would be a good re-intro. Let me know if you have!

Leave a Reply

