Baking Challenge

I have been home for a few days now in the rain. Being a nurse means you never have a normal schedule. Sometimes I work days, sometimes I work nights, sometimes I work 3 days in a row, sometimes I’m off for 7 in a row. It’s crazy. Since it’s raining I’ve been unable to get out and do as much as I normally would like to. So I decided to bake something today.

Herein lies the challenge. I couldn’t get to a grocery store (The New Yorker has the car), so I had to figure out something to make with what I already had in the house.

Challenge ingredients!

I figured I couldn’t go wrong with peanut butter, chocolate and sugar!

After a Twitter shoutout, I was directed to these from Julie at Peanut Butter Fingers, and these from Karina at Gluten Free Goddess.

I started with the Peanut Butter Cookies, because I had a pretty solid feeling that The New Yorker would HIGHLY approve of them! (When we first met he survived solely on Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and Gatorade. Not even kidding!)

The funny thing about these cookies is that with all the ingredients that I had scavenged for in my house, I only needed 3 of them!

That's it!

My only problem is that I either need to grow taller, or have shorter counter tops. I just couldn’t get enough leverage to mix the batter!

Time for an upper body workout!

I rolled them into a ball and then flattened them out to get the cookie shape I wanted. My only addition to the recipe was that I sprinkled sugar on the top of the cookies before putting them in the oven.

Looks like snow!

Have I mentioned I love manual focus on my camera?!

Baking is more fun when you have pretty things to bake with!

I played around with it for a little while while the cookies were baking and then, voila!

Yummmm!

It took all of my will power to not eat one before taking the picture! These are amazing, and go right up there with the Vanilla cupcake from yesterday! I totally give them 5 stars!

Ready to eat!

At this point I was all ready to go on the cupcakes. Only problem? I realized I had to leave soon for the Team Luna Chix Have 2 Run Walk Or Run for Fun (what a long name!). My friend Kara is trying to get back into running and talked me into doing this with her. We’re in different pace groups, but its the moral support and push of someone counting on you to be there that makes the difference! I’m really looking forward to it. It’s supposed to a really fun and informative run, not to mention all the free stuff!

I’m planning on making the cupcakes on Saturday. It will also give me time to make sure I have all the ingredients. I wasn’t really happy with how much improvising I was going to have to do, so it worked out.

In other random news, 1 month from today I’ll be marrying The New Yorker! 🙂 I REALLY hope it’s not raining like it is today! Please keep your fingers crossed for us!

10/8/2011!

Dear god, we look so young in that picture! And it’s only a year old!

I hope you all have a great afternoon!

One thought on “Baking Challenge

  1. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Dinner | The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

