Tofu for lunch?!

I’ve officially reached a turning point in my life. I had tofu for lunch, on my own free will, and enjoyed every stinkin’ bite of it!

Tofu and I have recently gone from mortal enemies to BFFs. While the transition was slightly rocky, we are both standing here today (tofu in stomach, me on couch, so no one is really standing) in solidarity.

After my first adventure with tofu, I have to say, I was hooked. I had a little difficulty pressing the tofu (thank god for google, otherwise there may have been a disaster before I even got to try the tofu!). My sister and I were talking about tofu and pressing tofu, and she told me that she had finally found a use for all of her boyfriend’s law books. Insta-tofu press! So I took a page out of her book (see what I did there??) and used my Med-Surg book from nursing school this time around. The thing is a beast!

I NEVER carried this to class!!

Then I used paper towels (not environmentally friendly, I know, but I’m getting there) and made my tofu press!

Tofu Press!

It was unbelievably useful, and way more efficient than me jumping up and down trying to get enough leverage on my counters! (Damn being 5 feet tall!)

I cut up the tofu in to small squares, added some oil and garlic salt to the pan, and once it was heated up put the tofu, onions and mushrooms into the pan to cook.

A little boring, don't you think?

It was all pretty much one color. I wish I had had some peppers to add to it. Oh well, next time!

While I was waiting for everything to cook, I had a glass of wine.

I love wine!

I’m totally putting a wine tasting on my bucket list!

Once lunch was ready I sat down with my tofu, veggies, and wine. It was a perfect lunch!

Boring color, wonderful taste!

The New Yorker and I are off for our marriage prep course tonight. I’m not really looking forward to it, but we have to do it so we can get married in the church. I’m trying very hard to keep an open mind, but if they show us the video of the guy on the donkey talking about natural family planning that my parents saw 3o years ago, it might be very hard to keep an open mind!

I also took a ton of pictures while out walking today, so I will do my best to get them edited and up here. One will 100% be up tomorrow, the rest might take a day or two.

I hope you all have a wonderful Saturday!

One thought on “Tofu for lunch?!

  1. Pingback: 2011 – A year in review « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

