Back in Order!

I have been absent from the blog/social media world for over a month now. Luckily, I have a VERY good excuse! I got married and went on a 2 week honeymoon to Hawaii. Amazing doesn’t even begin to cover the wedding and trip, and there will be some extensive posts about it coming up soon. Here is my favorite picture at the moment, I’m still waiting for the rest of the professional pictures. The ones I have seen are AMAZING and I can’t wait for the rest of them!

šŸ™‚

It has been a magical past few weeks, and while I’m a little sad to be gone from the perfect weather in Hawaii, I’m ready to get my life back in order!

I started out getting myself back in order with a huge calendar overhaul. I’m slightly obsessed with my planner from Coach, and highlighters, so this morning was all about the color coding.

All organized!

I had just bought the refill for my planner right before the wedding, so it was super nice to start completely fresh with a new calendar.

I alsoĀ updated my iCal and re-did all the color coding on that, so that it matched my written calendar (Beth, I’m sorry I made fun of your for your color coordinated post-it notes. I totally get it now!)

Then, I went to Katy Widrick’s website and started in on her Blog Homework Assignments. If you haven’t gotten a chance to check out her blog, now is the time to do it! Her blog is great to read, and she is always posting new ways to enhance your blog, up your readership, or expand your social media, not to mention she founded #fitblog chat. She’s awesome!

So, I updated my AboutĀ Me page, my Contact page, and got all my categories in order. Pretty stellar morning!

I’ve also decided to finally do some serious goal setting. I feel like I have read a lot about it on other blogs, and figure if it works for that many people, it has to work for me too. So I did a little research. I wanted to find out the best method for goal setting.

Googling anything gives you an abundance of options, and this search was no different. Googling “goal setting” turned back 23,600,000 results in 0.11 seconds. That is a LOT to sift through.

All of the summaries seemed to be indicating that “SMART” goal setting was the way to go. Only problem? Many of the websites had a different meaning for the acronym “SMART”. I also checked out a few different software options for setting goals, with one being Goal Enforcer. It was and interesting concept, but not something that would work for me personally.

While scanning through my search results I found the Lululemon goal setting worksheet. This is much more my idea, and seems to put all of the SMART concepts into place in an easy to use format. With that in mind, I started setting my goals. I broke them down into 3 major sections: Life, Fitness, and Blog.

I feel as though everything I want to accomplish in the next 6 months or so falls under one of those 3 categories.

Life:
– Learn more about gluten free eating
– Learn more about cooking/baking and do it more often
– Become more organized and maintain a more organized lifestyle

Fitness:
– Start the CrossFit Beginner Class by December 1st, 2011.
– Run the ING Miami Half Marathon

Blog:
– Create a more focused blog
– Explore the healthy/fitness blogging community
– Learn more about blogging in general

Then I began to take each goal, and make a SMART goal for it.

SMART goals

To be completely honest with you, I’m most excited about my fitness goals! I’m really looking forward to starting CrossFit, and having a race to train for!

Since I set most of my goals for 4 weeks, I am now planning on doing an update on Mondays about my progress towards those goals, including the blogs or articles that I have read, as well as any fitness updates. Look at that, I’m already creating a more focused blog! šŸ™‚

That’s about all for now. I promised The New Yorker that I would make dinner tonight, since he’s having a much harder time re-adjusting to east coast time than I am (one of the perks of being a day/night rotator!) so I’m off to hunt for ideas!

Do you have any goals/plans for this week?

4 thoughts on “Back in Order!

  1. Pingback: Understanding Goal Setting Theory | Self Improvement, Faith, & Confidence.

  2. Pingback: Fitbook « The Pasta Free Runner

  3. Pingback: Oops! « The Pasta Free Runner

  4. Pingback: A Case Of Leadfoot « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

