Back Where I Belong

It has been WAY to long since I ran a race.

When I was in high school, my sister talked me into trying Cross Country. That first year was interesting. I hated running, and I wasn’t very good at it, so I was always one of the last to finish at both practice and in meets. On the other hand, I LOVED being part of the team. I had great friends who helped teach me to have fun while running (mud runs anyone??) and I was hooked.

Invitational meet

The second year I was a little better, and had even more fun. My senior year, shockingly, I was voted captain of the team. I still wasn’t the best, but I had learned to love running and had put a lot of effort and training in over the summer. We all had a blast that year!

Senior Year

Last home meet of the year

(The Fab Four was only 3 letters long, hence why I’m the exclamation point.. oh high school…)

Then came college. No more organized cross country team, just me, running and hoping I could hold on and keep it fun.

Middler year (I went to a 5 year school, 3rd year is called middler year.. weird.) I lost a good friend to Cystic Fibrosis, and I was on a mission. Running helped me deal with the loss. I managed to get myself a spot on the MGH Cystic Fibrosis team for the Boston Marathon. All of the sudden, running wasn’t just for fun anymore, I had a purpose. I had to run to raise funds to help other people who had CF and their families. I put everything I had into training and fundraising. On the day of the Marathon I had my friend’s name written on my knuckles so that when I got tired and wanted to give up, I could just glance down and see his name. Knowing how hard he struggled everyday just to breathe was all the inspiration I needed.

BOSTON!

There are no words to explain the feeling when you take that turn from Hereford Street onto Boylston Street. You can see the finish line (and your Aunt and cousins if you’re lucky like me!), the crowds are screaming like you are in first place, and you know what you’ve accomplished. I crossed the finish line, and burst into tears. Not only had I just finished the Boston Marathon, but I had done it in memory of my friend.

Since then, I’ve been sidelined by injuries, a busy schedule and a lack of interest. I think Boston was such a high, and I’ve been searching for a race that would get me as excited to run as I was for Boston.

Well, I’ve found that race!

My cousin Amy is a senior at UMiami, and has convinced me that a little trip to visit her this January would be a good idea. We will be running the ING Miami Half Marathon on January 29th. Leave Boston in January and go see Amy and visit Miami? You bet I will!!

Cuzzzz

I’m now in search of the perfect training plan, and a printer.

Printer?

Yep, a printer. I’ve been obsessed with how organized and pretty this training plan from MegaNerdRuns is!

Now all I have to do is find the perfect training plan to make pretty like that.

I’m finally back where I belong. Out running and having fun again 🙂

Does anyone have a great 1/2 training plan that they loved?

7 thoughts on “Back Where I Belong

  1. Pingback: Feeling a little Fall « The Pasta Free Runner

  2. Pingback: I met a shark…. « The Pasta Free Runner

  3. Pingback: Speed Work Saturday « The Pasta Free Runner

  4. Pingback: Fail to Plan, Plan to Fail – Training Tuesday, part II « The Pasta Free Runner

  5. Pingback: Running Without Music « The Pasta Free Runner

  6. Pingback: 2011 – A year in review « The Pasta Free Runner

  7. Pingback: 12 Is The Magic Number « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

