Training Tuesday

Today is Training Tuesday! Since I’m technically in training for the ING Miami Half, I figured I would share a different aspect of my training each Tuesday (if I remember!)

Today I set off on another 3 mile run. It went better today than yesterday. I wasn’t cursing the world the whole time, and my 2 breaks were shorter than yesterday’s. I also didn’t run into any sharks today…

There are three things I can’t run without:

My Shoes

My Garmin 305

My iPod

Clearly I can’t live without my shoes. I’m not one of those barefoot runners! The Garmin, to me, is also self explanatory. I like numbers, and I like to know where I am at any given point in my run.

The thing that can make or break my run though is the music. (here’s a race that almost got blown because of the music…) I spend a lot of time planning my mixes for different types of runs. I also make mixes for each month. Its a fun adventure to find new songs and put them in with old favorites.

I figured I would share my November mix in hopes that it inspires you to train a little harder!

A Thousand Years – Christina Perri
Black Balloon – Goo Goo Dolls
Dizzy – Goo Goo Dolls
The Story of Us – Taylor Swift
Jai Ho – A.R. Rahman, et al. (from Slumdog Millionaire)
Not Over You – Gavin Degraw
Don’t Stop Believing – Glee Cast (Regionals Mix)
Use Somebody – Kings of Leon
Love Song – Sara Bareilles
Alone Again – Alyssa Reid
Sex is On Fire – Flett
Slide – Flashdance
Flashdance – Absolutely Fantastic
Love Story – Taylor Swift
Walking In Memphis – Marc Cohn
Need You Now – Glee Cast
Broadway – Goo Goo Dolls
Blow – Ke$ha
Sweet Home Alabama – Lynyrd Skynyrd
Chasing Cars – Snow Patrol
Long Live – Taylor Swift
Proud Mary – Glee Cast
Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns N’ Roses
Fireflies – Sam Tsui & Kurt Schneider
More Than a Feeling – Boston
Sweet Caroline – Neil Diamond
She’s Not There – Glee Cast
Save Me, San Francisco – Train (in honor of my favorite Cali girl!)
Let Me Entertain You – Brandeis Voicemale
One Love – U2 and Mary J. Blige
Crush – Glee Cast
Living On A Prayer – Bon Jovi

So there you have it! My current month’s list of music 🙂 It seems to be overrun with Glee, Taylor Swift and Goo Goo Dolls, but let me tell you, it’s an AWESOME mix! I’m obsessed with the one by Christina Perri, and Alyssa Reid. They are both amazing songs and they get me really pumped to go running! I hope you enjoy the mix and maybe find a new song to add to yours!

 

Do you have something that you absolutely can’t train without?

3 thoughts on “Training Tuesday

  1. Pingback: The Single Most Exciting Moment of the Week « The Pasta Free Runner

  2. Pingback: Mush Free Apple Pie and a Long Run « The Pasta Free Runner

  3. Pingback: In case you missed it… « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

