Speed Work Saturday

The last time I went to a track to do something that resembled a speed workout was…uh…um…. shoot, maybe Freshman year of high school when I mistakenly thought I was destined to be a sprinter. Since then, the only thing I’ve done in terms of a speed workout is sprinting between trees, or telephone poles, and usually the 2 closest ones I could find.

As part of my Half Marathon Training I am throwing in speed work once a week. Tonight’s workout was 4×400. I dragged The New Yorker to the track with me to time, motivate, and for a lap, pace me.

The Track

My first lap I went out at full speed. I VERY quickly learned that I am not an Olympic sprinter, and slowed down to a “running through molasses” speed before I hit 300 meters. That first lap was a decent time, and had I kept up the speed I started with, I might have had to change my racing plans!

Split 1

The next lap was a bit of a recovery for me. I was seeing stars and winded like an old lady, so I didn’t really put that much into it.

Slower... 1:58:33

For the third lap, The New Yorker decided to pace me in hopes of a 1:50 400m. We took off and at 300m I was huffing and puffing again. The New Yorker looked at me and said, “come on, you’ve got this, 100 left to go”. I picked it up a smidge and we ended with this:

1:50:01 - how perfect!

I was so impressed with him! He was a great motivator and an awesome pacer! I did feel like I was about to throw up all over the artificial turf, but with only one more 400m to go, I was determined to finish.

While we were in Hawaii on our honeymoon, The New Yorker went to a CrossFit class. He got a shirt there with the saying “All it takes, is all you’ve got”. I absolutely loved that saying, and have been repeating it to myself when a run gets tough.

Back to the track.

We had planned for me to take that last 400m in under 2:00:00. When I hit that 300m point, all I heard in my head was “All it takes is all you’ve got”. I picked up the pace and finished in 2:00:54.

Last lap!

While it wasn’t under 2:00:00, I was pumped that I didn’t hit 2:01:00.

It also established a good base so that for future speed work I know how to plan what pace I should be hitting.

Sprinter??

I’m lucky enough to have a track nearby, and a wonderful husband who will time and pace me. I actually almost enjoyed the speed workout, and am looking forward to my next one.

Have you done any speed work recently? How do you motivate yourself on the track? 

One thought on “Speed Work Saturday

  1. Pingback: In case you missed it… « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

