Fail to Plan, Plan to Fail – Training Tuesday, part II

I could not sleep today to save my soul! I’m on a stretch of nights this week, so day-sleep is on my agenda, and pretty important. Lucky for you though, that means I’m awake to update and post on Training Tuesday!

Let’s grab a cup of tea and then off we go:

mmmmmm

Disclaimer: My training plan was created to work with my personal running level, as well as my work schedule. I have absolutely no experience creating training plans, nor do I endorse that this is the best or only way to train. It is simply what works for me.

With my bizarre schedule, I was having a really hard time fitting in all of the runs that a standard training plan like Jeff Galloway or Hal Higdon suggest. Some weeks I can’t even safely go running at all, since by the time I wake up, it’s pitch black out. (Sidenote: It’s high time I invested in some reflective gear and a flashlight to take running!)

I googled “3 Training Days per week” and found the following website from Runners World:

Perfect!

Umm, sounds right up my alley! The plan from Runners World looks like this:

3 Days A Week

Now, as you know from my post that included my obsession with MegaNerdRuns’ plan, I like when things are pretty.

I’m still learning how to work computer programs on a mac, but I have to say, it didn’t come out to badly!

My plan!

(Clicking on the picture will enlarge it in a new window)

Well now you all have my work schedule!

The rest days are work days (I work a 12 hour shift, and I’m still working up the motivation to run before/after once I have that reflective gear!) Blue is a tempo run, green is a long run, orange is my speed workout, and brown is just a “get the heck out the door and move it!

I incorporated the speed workouts from the Runners World plan, and the rest was re-worked to get me appropriate amounts of miles per week, as well as a good long run each week.

The plan isn’t finished yet, since I didn’t have my work schedule that far in advance, but as soon as I do, I’ll post an updated version of my plan.

So there you have it. The PastaFreeRunner’s ING Half Marathon Training plan. I’ll let you know how it works out, and if it works at all!

(Another total side note, I’ve found new obsessions! Check out the Zensah Compression sleeves over at PBFingers, and these AWESOME runner inspired gifts at Meals and Miles! My Amazon Christmas Wish List just got longer- thanks ladies for the great ideas!)

What’s on your Christmas list this year?

Leave a Reply

