The Black Hole

As a follow up to yesterday’s post about Thanksgiving, I HAD to come back and post this once I found it.

I had been mentioning that my cousins, sister and I called ourselves The Black Hole, and have for as long as we can remember. The idea behind the name was that once the mashed potatoes or stuffing made it to our table, it was never to return to the adult table, since we would finish it all!

While writing yesterday’s post, I was looking desperately for this picture that I knew existed of the 4 of us at our little blue plastic table, impatiently awaiting the potatoes and stuffing! I finally found the picture, and the proof of our family obsession with food and Thanksgiving!

This summer my sister and cousins threw me the most gorgeous bridal shower (for full details on the amazing cupcakes you can go here!). One of the many beautiful things I received from the shower was a scrapbook where many of the guests created a page of memories or advice for me. The most special pages to me were the ones created by my Mom, Beth, Laura, and Amy. Amy’s page however, stuck out among the rest for her typical goofball-ness, and intense Black Hole History.

Beautiful scrapbook page

In all honesty, as I read the circle on the right, I wanted to throw my fist in the air in solidarity, and made a mental pledge that there was no way in hell I was going to miss Thanksgiving this year! It was almost like a Braveheart moment… Almost.

Now for the moment you’ve all been waiting for… The official Black Hole Portrait, circa 1992:

The Black Hole (from the back left going clockwise) Beth, Laura, Me, Amy

I’m totally making a guess on ages based on the fact that Amy was able to sit at the table, and I’m going with Beth was 7, making me 5, Laura, 4 and Amy 2. Please, also note that Amy is already holding her plate in anticipation of the food that is to come!

The funniest thing is that now when we have family meals at my Grandmother’s house, we still sit in that corner, in roughly the same position (I think we moved clockwise a few hours) except that now we’ve upgraded to a folding card table. I’m pretty sure we wouldn’t have it any other way 🙂

I am so lucky that these 3 ladies not only are my family, but are much loved friends. We truly enjoy seeing each other, and always look forward to spending our ridiculous time together. Whether it be stuffing our faces silly at Thanksgiving, making up dances to the Beach Boys, going on family vacations, or having them standing next to me as my Maid of Honor and Bridesmaids at my wedding, these girls are 3 of my favorite people in the whole world, and I don’t know what I’d do without them 🙂

Photo by Photography By Jennifer Millian

 

 

One thought on “The Black Hole

  1. Pingback: 2011 – A year in review « The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

