Lunch with an old friend and Adventures with Swiss Chard

Yesterday one of my friends from college, Kara, came over for lunch. She works right near me, and luckily is able to get away from the office for a break. This is the second time she has come over for lunch, and we’ve both really started to look forward to it each week.

This week, I lucked out because both she and her roommate were leaving for the holidays and needed to get rid of some veggies! Her roommate gets fresh organic produce from Boston Organics delivered straight to their door every week. It’s similar to the CSA boxes that other bloggers have written about, except that Boston Organics delivers year round.

Kara brought over some delicious produce and we decided to make some gigantic salads!

Kara set up all the veggies, and I got to shooting pictures!

One of the things Kara brought over was some rainbow swiss chard. I had never seen it before, and was excited to give it a try. We googled swiss chard to see what to do with it. Kara and I opted to sauté it for extra flavor.

Then we added all sorts of delicious veggies and got to eating.

Kara and I have also decided that a fun new game for the blog would be “spot the bird”, so off we go!

Kara and I had a great conversation as always, and all too soon it was time for her to go back to work.

I got in a great 6 mile run later that day. Once again I was listening to Jillian Michaels’ podcast, and the miles flew by. Well, at least they did in my head! I kept up a solid 10-ish minute mile, and was quite comfortable.

It was a great run that left me excited for the half in January!

I’m getting ready for 4 nights at work that will take me through the Christmas Holiday weekend. I will attempt to post, but in case I don’t, I hope you all have a wonderful holiday weekend!

2 thoughts on “Lunch with an old friend and Adventures with Swiss Chard

  1. Pingback: I Discovered Something….. « The Pasta Free Runner

  2. Pingback: I graduated! | The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

