Some New Toys

I know its been a while since I posted. Christmas has passed and we’re now gearing up for New Years Eve. I’ve been working on my New Year’s Resolutions, and will be posting about those soon. In the meantime, I’ve got a fun story about today!

The New Yorker and I have decided to make the switch to organic eating. We have signed up for Boston Organics and will start getting our deliveries January 6th. I can’t wait! I’m really excited that The New Yorker backs me on this. Sometimes he looks at me like I’m crazy when I tell him something I want to try. This time, he just said “sounds good” and off we went!

To get started, I ordered a book called Clean Start by Terry Walters.

It gives a really quick overview of clean eating, and how to stock your pantry. It was great for someone like me, who needs the basics and not much more. I tend to get pretty overwhelmed when I’m presented with too much information all at once. It broke down the separate groups (greens, legumes etc.) and how to cook them and store them. I also really liked how it gives tips about things, like what section of the grocery store to find certain things (chickpea miso is in the refrigerated section) or where to get things cheaper (bargain bins for legumes). The best part of this book? Everything is gluten and dairy free!

The New Yorker and I also went to Bed, Bath, and Beyond, and picked up a couple of things that would make this really easy for us. We were really lucky and got many gift cards to BBB for wedding gifts, and decided to put them to good use today.

Spicy!

We decided that a spice rack would be a great idea, all of these will be great for seasoning our food.

We also picked up a crock pot. A lot of the things we wanted to make needed to be slow cooked.

Slooowwwww it downnn

We decided to try it out tonight with a pot roast. The New Yorker and I went to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s as well today to stock up on a bunch of organic food. We bought meat for pot roast, and plenty of organic vegetables to put in it. Everything was stuffed in the slow cooker, and we are now enjoying the smells of it cooking.

While waiting, we broke out another new toy:

Rock 'em Sock 'em Robots!

My sister-in-law always gets us the best toys for Christmas! We had such a blast playing, and it’s still sitting on our coffee table waiting to be played after dinner. She also got us a table top Fooseball table, so there will probably be some serious competition soon. I just want it to go on record, that I seriously kicked The New Yorker’s butt at Rock’em Sock’em Robots 🙂

 

Is anyone making any New Years Resolutions?
What was the most fun gift that you received for the Holidays?  

2 thoughts on “Some New Toys

  1. Pingback: 2011 – A year in review « The Pasta Free Runner

  2. Pingback: Pasta That Kardashian?! | The Pasta Free Runner

Leave a Reply

