Beautiful Mondays

Welcome back for another edition of Beautiful Mondays! I hope everyone had a good weekend.

I went on a hunt for makeup remover today. I wanted makeup remover wipes since I find them more convenient. Keeping in mind what I learned last week about ingredients, I stopped into Origins, hoping that they would have some great options.

I was out of luck.

I really should have done my research before looking like a total idiot in the store with my iPhone stuck on the EWG’s Skin Deep site, but live and learn. When I got in the store, I told the very helpful associate what I was looking for. She said that they didn’t have any makeup remover wipes, but that she did have some makeup remover options. She brought me over to them, and I told her I would need some time to look at the ingredients.

I pulled up the Skin Deep Site, and found this:

And that’s where I should have stopped.

But again, live and learn.

So I clicked on it, and went hunting for the product she had given me, which was called Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Eye Make Up Remover Pads. While I couldn’t find the exact product, I found others from the line.

A score of 3 (yellow) is not good enough for me. I wanted 0 and green. The end. When I flipped over the product to read the ingredients, I saw names that I did not recognize at all. Lots of them.

I know the company states:

Source

But I just couldn’t stomach the rating, coupled with too many ingredients that I couldn’t pronounce. Unfortunately I was feeling too awkward in the store already to take a picture of the ingredient list. Origins does not list the ingredients for their products online (that I could find. I may be wrong.), but I was concerned enough that I walked out of the store without making a purchase.

Next stop? CVS. I’m not sure what I was hoping to find there, but I gave it a shot. I walked up and down the aisle trying to find anything that even said “Natural” on it.

Fail. Big time.

What I did find was the product called “Simple”

Never judge a book by its cover SERIOUSLY comes into effect here! Nothing about this product was vitamin or simple!

No animal derivatives is stellar, but want to address those parabens? They happen to cause endocrine problems. And the Phenoxyethanol? That one can cause organ damage. Sweet, sign me up, ASAP! NOT…

So I left another store without a purchase.

My hunt will have to continue because I was unable to find something that measured up to my standards, and I was cut a little short due to a fun errand with the husband – which I’ll share with you tomorrow 🙂

I hope you all had a great day!

What product do you use for makeup remover?

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Mondays

  1. Hey there 🙂

    I kind of came across your blog and got caught in your way of writing and your story…

    It is indeed really difficult to find truly natural, non-toxic cosmetic products. I decided to go “green” at the beginning of the year and am spending way too much time researching shops and ingredients… I’ve found it’s easiest to simply make it yourself. For removing make-up I’m using the oil-cleansing method. A mixture of castor and olive oil. It’s inexpensive, cleanses perfectly and even removes waterproof mascara and the like. If you’d like to read more you can do so in my blog http://fberlinwlove.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/my-newly-disco…beauty-routine/
    or try the Beauty Suite 101 for a detailed description: http://victoria-anisman-reiner.suite101.com/the-oil-cleansing-method-a16284 🙂

    • Hi!
      Thanks so much for checking out my blog! I totally agree, SOOOO much time is spent researching ingredients. It’s nice to have that new level of understanding about the confusing words on the back of the bottle though! Thanks for the tip, I’ll be checking it out ASAP!

Leave a Reply

