Check It Off The List!

Yesterday was full of new and exciting things.

My day started out with an intro class at the CrossFit gym. Yup, that’s right, I FINALLY started CrossFit! (I can cross it off of my Fit February list!)

 

I walked into the gym, and had a slight panic attack. It was packed with equipment that I had very strategically avoided in the past. No comfy treadmill, no familiar dumbbell.

CrossFit gyms are referred to (lovingly) as a “box”. Nothing fancy, just 4 walls a ceiling, and a padded floor. There were 4 pull up bars, a few racks, and otherwise just space and some mobile equipment.

Source

Heather greeted me right away, and was super friendly. She showed me around the box, and then went over a quick warm up with me. Following that we went through some of the basic movements used in the Workout of the Day (WOD).

(Each of the following movements has a link to a Youtube video so you can see the if you are unfamiliar, which I was for most of them!)

We went over the different types of squats:

Air Squats

Front Squats 

Back Squats

Overhead Squats

Then we did sit ups Crossfit style!

Next we moved on to push ups. Heather said she was impressed with what I could manage for a push up (which isn’t much!) I actually snorted when she told me I could do those for a short time (like 10-20 push ups) but if I was going to do more – say 50 to 100 – I should do modified. (Later on I maxed out my modified push ups at 12… I have a ways to go!!)

Finally she showed me the pull up bars. She brought me over to one and demonstrated a jumping pull up. I was a little too short for the box and bar that she had set up, so we moved to the smaller bar. MUCH better!

Last but not least, we went over pull ups with the assist of a band.

When all of that was over, Heather looked at me and said “Are you ready for your first CrossFit Workout?”

Wait. What?? Didn’t we go over enough? My quads were already screaming from all of the squats. Oh hell…

So off we went. She explained the workout and set me up on the rower. All the sudden I heard. “3..2..1.. GO!” and I started rowing.

I rowed for 500 meters. Then I hopped up and did 40 Air Squats, 30 sit ups, 20 push ups (where I figured out my current max…) and 10 assisted pull ups.

Holy Moly! I may be able to run a half marathon and be fine when I’m done, but that had me huffing and puffing!!

I finished in 7:15. I have absolutely nothing to compare this to other than the New Yorker’s best time of 4:xx

I left feeling awesome! How can you not after something like that? I have 2 more private sessions with Heather, and then I’ll jump into the group classes.

How am I feeling today though, you ask? Well. I’m walking like a penguin.

Source: google.com via Kara on Pinterest

 

This little guy looks cute. I – however – look silly. Oh well. I’m going back Friday, so as long as I can lift my arms above my shoulders by then, I’ll be golden 🙂

Next fun thing:

I got my new glasses yesterday! They are these from For Eyes:

I’ll have to get a picture of me in them soon, but right now my face has abandoned the treaty we made, where I told it NOT to break out like a 15 year old. Fail. Oh well, soon enough!

I also got my new contacts yesterday. Those look like contacts. Nothing super fun.

And FINALLY, the BEST thing we got yesterday….

The New Yorker picked up his new 2012 VW Jetta GLI 🙂 Boy, was he a happy camper!!

This is actually a funny story. I was at work this weekend, and the plan was for him to go do the “first test drive” since he didn’t want to waste his time planning on a car if he didn’t like how it drove.

I got the phone call that said “Hey Kate, they’re giving me a good deal….” and that was that. The car was his.

Here’s the inside (done at night, on my phone.. sorry!)

It has all the bells and whistles from heated seats, to bluetooth phone connection, to a Fender sound system. The car is AMAZING and I’m so happy he loves it. He gets stuck in traffic every day, so this will make the traffic a LOT nicer to sit through!

Even better? Now I have a car! We kept the Toyota, since it’s still in great condition, and now I am free to go further than the T will take me!

Woo!! So there you have it! The PastaFree house had an amazing day yesterday!

I hope everyone has a happy Valentine’s Day!

What is something great that happened to you yesterday?

2 thoughts on “Check It Off The List!

    • So by REALLY sore, do you mean “unable to walk without looking like a total idiot”?? 🙂
      Thanks for swinging by the blog!

Leave a Reply

